How do I close my M1 account? 

To close your M1 account, you will need to first close the individual M1 products you’re currently using.  

 

To close an Invest account: 

You will need to liquidate your Invest account. To initiate a liquidation request please follow these steps to liquidate your M1 account.  

 

To close a Spend checking account: 

You will need to transfer all your money in your M1 Spend account to your connected external bank account.  

Learn how to create transfers in your account. 

 

To close a Borrow account 

You will need to pay down any outstanding Borrow balance. To pay the balance please navigate to the Borrow tab and select "Pay Back". 

How to use M1 Borrow  

Learn more about transfer timing. 

 

To close an Owner’s Rewards Card account 

To close your Owner’s Rewards Card account, please reach out to the M1 Owner's Rewards Card team, at (833) 978-3351. They are available Monday-Friday between 8 am-8 pm CT and Saturday between 9 am-2 pm CT. 

 

Once your individual accounts are closed, you can deactivate your M1 account.  

If you have completed the M1 onboarding process and can access the main application:  

  1. Navigate to settings in the top right corner of the account. 
  2. Select “Accounts”. 
  3. Click on “Deactivate Account”. 
  4. Confirm that you want to deactivate your account.
  5. A request will be sent to our Client Success Team, and we will follow -up if they need additional information.

If you have not completed the M1 onboarding process:  

  1. Click on the overflow menu in the top right corner. 
  2. Select “Deactivate Account”. 
  3. Confirm that you want to deactivate your account. 
  4. A request will be sent to our Client Success Team, and we will follow -up once your account has been closed. 

 

We’re sad to see you go! We believe in continuous improvement and greatly value your feedback.  

If you would like to provide any feedback or if you have further questions, please contact us. 

 

Was this article helpful?
/
3 out of 12 found this helpful